Notification pop-ups
Pop ups in the notification area are mostly caused by allowing notifications from a website while browsing the internet.
While browsing many website you will sometimes be prompted to allow notifications from the site. When this is allowed notifications will start showing up in the bottom right of the screen. These are usually updates from the site you allowed such as new articles or updates to posts.
The issue is that notifications from some of the websites tend to get inappropriate and you may think that this is a virus.
All of this is easy to avoid if you don’t allow notifications when a website prompts you.
If you do or have already allowed notifications the fixes are:
Option 1(For faculty Chromebook):
- Click on the clock.
- Go to Notifications.
Deselect anything you don’t want to get notifications from. (This doesn’t clear anything but does stop the pop-ups.)
Option 2 (For faculty PC)
*****Google Chrome Instructions*****
1. Open Chrome and click the three-dot menu (top right) select settings
2. Go to Privacy and security → Site settings → Pop‑ups and redirects. Click on "Don't allow sites to send pop-ups or use redirects." At the bottom of the same page you can see sites you have allowed to send you pop ups, click on the three dot menu next to each site and click "remove"
3. Go to Privacy and security → Site settings → Notifications. Click on "don't allow sites to send notifications" (If you have specific sites you DO want to send you notifications, you can add them in this same screen. Click on the "allowed to send notifications add" button and list the website you do want to receive notifications from.
*****Microsoft Edge Instructions*****
1. Open Edge → three‑dot menu (top right) → Settings
2. Go to Privacy, search, and services → Site permissions → All sites
3. Find the site, click the three‑dot menu next to it, notifications and select "block". Find pop-ups and redirects and select "block"
*****Firefox Instructions*****
1. Open Firefox → Open Menu (≡) > Settings > Permissions and data
2. Check the box that says "block pop-ups and third-party redirects"
Option 3 (For Chromebook) Delete the user profile:
Sign Out.
Next to the username click the drop-down and select Remove User. This seems to be confined to the local device so removing the account should clear the accepting of notifications.
